UNU-IIGH Board Chairman Receives Prestigious 2015 Merdeka Award

  • 2015•12•11     Kuala Lumpur

    Tan Sri Professor Zakri Abdul Hamid (Photo: Munzir Fauzi)

    Tan Sri Professor Zakri Abdul Hamid
    (Photo: Munzir Fauzi)

    We are delighted to announce that UNU-IIGH Board Chairman Tan Sri Professor Zakri Abdul Hamid was among six outstanding individuals who have received the prestigious 2015 Merdeka Award.

    Prof Zakri, who was selected in the environment category, is also the Science Advisor to the Prime Minister of Malaysia. A former director of the UNU Institute of Advanced Studies (UNU-IAS) in Japan during 2001-2008, he is the founding chair of the Intergovernmental Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services (IPBES) and a member of the UN Scientific Advisory Board.

    Malaysia’s annual Merdeka Award confers recognition to outstanding Malaysians and non-Malaysians, who have contributed to the nation.  The other five recipients were World Humanitarian Summit Secretariat chief Tan Sri Dr Jemilah Mahmood (education and community category); Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia Emeritus Professor and Guest Scholar Datuk Dr Abdul Latiff Mohamad (environment category); Universiti Putra Malaysia, Faculty of Biotechnology and Biomolecular Sciences Dean, Prof Datin Paduka Khatijah Mohamad Yusoff (health, science and technology category); Universiti Malaya Founder and Head of Centre for Ionic Liquids Prof Dr Mohd Ali Hashim (outstanding scholastic achievement category) and the vice president of Species Conservation, New York, Dr Elizabeth Lesley Bennett (outstanding contribution to the people of Malaysia category).

    The Sultan of Perak, Sultan Nazrin Shah who is the Merdeka Award Trust royal patron, presented each recipient with a Merdeka Award trophy, a Merdeka artwork by local artist Latiff Mohidin and RM500,000 at the ceremony held at the Malaysian Philharmonic Hall in Kuala Lumpur.